Dr. Arati Prabhakar Joins SRI International Board of Directors | SRI International

Toggle Menu

Dr. Arati Prabhakar Joins SRI International Board of Directors

Arati PrabhakarMENLO PARK, Calif. - March 26, 2012 -  Arati Prabhakar, Ph.D., has been elected to SRI International's Board of Directors. Dr. Prabhakar brings extensive experience in funding and managing engineers, scientists, and entrepreneurs to create new technologies and businesses.

Dr. Prabhakar is also a member of the National Academies' Science Technology and Economic Policy (STEP) Board, the College of Engineering Advisory Board at the University of California, Berkeley, and the red team of DARPA's Defense Sciences Research Council (DSRC). In addition, she chairs the Efficiency and Renewables Advisory Committee (ERAC) for the U.S. Department of Energy.

For the past ten years, Dr. Prabhakar was a partner at U.S. Venture Partners, a Silicon Valley venture capital firm, where she worked with cleantech and IT entrepreneurs to build new companies. Previously, Dr. Prabhakar was president at Interval Research Corporation, a laboratory for consumer technology. Prior to Interval, she was chief technology officer at Raychem, a publicly held specialty materials company.

In 1993, President Clinton appointed Dr. Prabhakar as the Director of the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST), where she led the 3,000-person organization in its work with companies across multiple industries. In 1984, she was invited to Washington, DC, on a U.S. Congressional fellowship with the Office of Technology Assessment. After her fellowship, she served several years at the Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency (DARPA)-first as a program manager and then as founding director of the Microelectronics Technology Office.

Dr. Prabhakar received her Ph.D. in applied physics and an M.S. in electrical engineering from the California Institute of Technology. She received her B.S. in electrical engineering from Texas Tech University. Dr. Prabhakar is a Fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and a Caltech Distinguished Alumna.